M*Modal

M*Modal est un prestataire de technologie de santé leader spécialisé dans les solutions de documentation clinique. M*Modal offre aux hôpitaux et aux médecins des solutions cliniques de dernière génération pour la documentation clinique et la collaboration de processus en transformant les mots en actes. Comptant parmi les premiers prestataires de services de rapports médicaux aux États-Unis, M*Modal fournit également la technologie Speech Understanding™ basée sur le cloud et des analyses de données permettant aux cliniciens d'indiquer le contexte des déclarations de leur patient et de s'appuyer sur la documentation pour améliorer davantage la productivité et la qualité des soins dans les espaces de santé.

Télécharger l'étude de cas au format PDF »


Défis

L'objectif de M*Modal est de permettre aux cliniciens de capturer le sens des documents cliniques de type déclaratif et de les rendre exploitables à grande échelle et en temps réel. M*Modal savait que la nature de ces données ne permettait pas aux bases de données relationnelles traditionnelles de prendre en charge les objectifs de l'entreprise. Pour que M*Modal puisse vendre ses services dans le secteur de la santé, les dirigeants de l'entreprise savaient qu'ils devraient répondre à des exigences strictes, notamment :

Intégrité de la sécurité et des transactions. En plus de répondre aux exigences des réglementations PHI et HIPAA de 1996 en matière de protection et de précision des dossiers médicaux, l'entreprise ne pouvait pas se permettre de perdre la moindre donnée. L'absence de données de patients comporte un risque pouvant entraîner des erreurs médicales, des défauts de remboursement, voire d'éventuelles pertes de vies humaines. De plus, toutes les données de patients doivent être restreintes par les utilisateurs/groupes et faire l'objet d'analyses en cas d'accès non autorisé.

Performances et évolutivité. Les fondateurs de M*Modal ont compris que les types de documents et de données étaient en augmentation et en évolution constantes, et que l'entreprise devait par conséquent opter pour une infrastructure à même de prendre en charge des millions de documents et des dizaines de milliers d'utilisateurs simultanés. En une semaine, un patient peut générer entre plusieurs centaines et plusieurs milliers de points de données (rapports d'analyse, notes des infirmières, etc.) dans des documents, auxquels devront accéder les fournisseurs de santé à des fins d'analyse. De même, ces sources de données ne viennent pas sous la forme de colonnes et de lignes bien rangées.

Agilité et flexibilité. M*Modal nécessitait une plateforme de bases de données permettant de gérer plusieurs téraoctets de données, provenant de différentes sources. Elle nécessitait également une architecture permettant d'introduire rapidement et de manière transparente de nouvelles sources de données et fonctionnalités, et de nouveaux services. Grâce à cette architecture, les informations essentielles sont transmises en temps réel aux cliniciens sur leur lieu de travail.

Des recherches pertinentes et performantes. Si un docteur souhaitait vérifier si un patient présentait un risque de diabète, il devait parcourir l'historique du patient, ses antécédents familiaux, son régime alimentaire, ses exercices physiques et d'autres éléments afin d'établir une analyse précise. Des recherches efficaces doivent permettre aux clients de M*Modal de fournir de meilleurs soins et de gagner du temps grâce à des résultats précis.

Chez M*Modal, nous avons compris que notre application n'aurait pas pu être conçue sur une plateforme relationnelle. La technologie ne permettait tout simplement pas d'offrir et d'analyser des informations enrichies sur les patients, tels que les rapports de laboratoires, tout en structurant de grandes quantités de données. MarkLogic nous a aidés à régler des questions et des problèmes épineux et nous a permis d'offrir la meilleure qualité de soins possible.

Aaron Brauser, responsable des solutions VP, M*Modal

La solution

M*Modal a conçu l'ensemble de sa solution sur la plateforme de bases de données Enterprise NoSQL de MarkLogic fonctionnant sur un cloud privé. M*Modal s'est notamment appuyé sur MarkLogic pour :

  • La conformité aux normes ACID pour l'intégrité des transactions
  • La recherche et les requêtes pour trouver les données des patients plus efficacement
  • Un haut niveau de performances offrant des temps de réponse rapides
  • L'évolutivité nécessaire à la gestion de plusieurs téraoctets de données et à un nombre croissant d'utilisateur simultanés
  • Un modèle de données flexible capable de gérer facilement une multitude de données issues de plusieurs sources de données
  • La protection des données à caractère médical et officiel

Avantages

M*Modal prend actuellement en charge plus de 1 000 systèmes hospitaliers, des milliers d'utilisateurs simultanés, 36 000 requêtes et des millions de documents écrits chaque jour. Élément le plus notable, l'association de M*Modal et de MarkLogic a permis aux hôpitaux et aux médecins de garantir de meilleurs soins tout en diminuant les coûts.

Augmenter les bénéfices avec des temps de diagnostics plus rapides. L'agilité de MarkLogic permet à M*Modal de s'adapter aux problèmes internationaux et de mettre rapidement en place de nouveaux services pour prendre en charge les problèmes de santé et les épidémies. Par exemple, lorsque des événements comme l'épidémie d'Ébola ont touché l'Amérique en 2014, M*Modal a été capable de créer une application avec abonnement, aidant les médecins à diagnostiquer les cas d'Ébola (points de données identifiés tels que d'importantes fièvres, les déplacements à l'étranger, etc.) S'agissant d'un service avec abonnement basé sur le cloud, M*Modal a pu prendre en charge un environnement partagé, accessible aux utilisateurs d'hôpitaux, d'universités, d'agences et d'autres établissements, le tout à l'aide d'un simple bouton.

Mettre en place une utilisation des données et une expérience client hors pair. Aujourd'hui, M*Modal gère des millions de documents de patients, avec des recherches de moins d'une seconde. M*Modal permet aux clients de répondre à des défis tels que l'utilisation pertinente de données, la transition du format 9 vers le format 10, et l'augmentation des dossiers médicaux électroniques en sauvegardant, intégrant et délivrant rapidement les nouvelles informations dès leur parution. M*Modal et MarkLogic offrent une valeur ajoutée supplémentaire à la technologie de reconnaissance vocale de M*Modal via l'intégration de données. M*Modal permet non seulement d'enregistrer les notes et les indications des docteurs, mais aussi de rechercher et d'analyser les informations pertinentes du patient, afin de les ajouter à son dossier et d'effectuer des diagnostics rapides et précis.

Créer une protection des données de santé avec agilité. M*Modal n'aurait pas pu réussir sans le plus haut niveau de sécurité, mais parfois les protocoles de sécurité peuvent entraver l'innovation. M*Modal a résolu ce problème avec MarkLogic. Grâce au niveau de sécurité optimal et aux contrôles personnalisés de la plateforme, permettant à chaque utilisateur autorisé travaillant avec un patient d'ajouter des informations critiques aux dossiers, les programmeurs pouvaient accéder aux informations pertinentes destinées aux assurances ainsi qu'à d'autres données.

Plus de témoignages de clients

ABN AMRO
ALM
American Psychological Association
American Society of Agronomy
Bowker
Broadridge
BSi Group
CABI
Codifyd
Condé Nast
CQ Roll Call
De Gruyter
EBCONT
Elsevier
Fairfax County, Virginia
Federal Aviation Administration
Global Nonprofit
Hannover Re
Healthcare.gov
HEROLD.at
Informatics Corporation of America
Institute of Engineering and Technology
Institute of Physics
Banque d'investissement
Banque d'investissement (Tier 1)
Banque d'investissement (Top 5)
JWG Group
Klopotek
Lagardère Active
M*Modal
Mitchell 1
MVB
National Archives & Records Administration
NBC Universal
OECD Publishing
Oxford University Press
Press Association
Princeton Theological Seminary
Reed Business Information
Royal Society of Chemistry
RSuite CMS
Springer
Thieme
Triumph Learning
University of Virginia
Warrior Gateway
Wiley
Yell.com

M*Modal

M*Modal is a leading healthcare technology provider of advanced clinical documentation solutions. M*Modal is delivering hospital and physicians next-generation clinical informatics solutions for clinical documentation and workflow collaboration by Transforming Words into Action. As one of the largest clinical transcription service providers in the U.S., M*Modal also provides advanced cloud-based Speech Understanding™ technology and data analytics that enable clinicians to capture the context of their patient narratives and utilize the data from the documentation to further enhance productivity and quality of patient care at the point of care.

Download a PDF of this case study »


Challenges

M*Modal’s vision is to enable clinicians to capture the richness of narrative clinical documents and make it actionable at large scale and in real time. M*Modal knew that the nature of this data made it impossible for traditional relational databases to support the company’s vision. In order for M*Modal to successfully sell its services into the healthcare field, company executives knew they had to meet stringent requirements, including:

Security and Transactional Integrity. In addition to meeting Protected Health Information (PHI) and HIPAA (federal Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996) requirements for secure and accurate medical records, organizations simply cannot lose patient data. Missing patient data means risking medical errors, loss of reimbursements, and potentially even loss of human life. Additionally, all patient data access must be restricted by user/groups and auditable in cases of inappropriate access.

Performance and Scalability. M*Modal founders understood that documents and data types were increasing and changing, and the company needed an infrastructure that could eventually support millions of documents and tens of thousands of concurrent users. In just one patient stay, hundreds to thousands of data points (lab reports, nurse notations, etc.) can be found in documents that need to be accessed and analyzed by healthcare providers, and these data sources don’t come neatly packaged in rows and columns.

Agility and Flexibility. M*Modal needed a database platform that could handle terabytes of data, from a variety of sources. It also required an architecture that could rapidly introduce new data sources, services and features seamlessly and quickly. This enables key information to be brought to the clinician in real time at the point of care.

Powerful and Relevant Search. If a doctor needed confirmation that a patient was at risk for diabetes, he or she would need access to the patient’s history, family history, diet, exercise and more in order to establish an accurate analysis. Effective search would allow M*Modal customers to provide better care, and save time with accurate results right away.

At M*Modal, we realized that building our application on a relational platform could not be done. The technology simply could not access and analyze rich patient information such as a lab report while trying to structure large sets of data. We found that MarkLogic helped us answer complex questions and issues in order to deliver the highest possible quality of care.

Aaron Brauser, VP Solutions Management, M*Modal

The Solution

M*Modal built its entire solution on the MarkLogic Enterprise NoSQL database platform running on a private cloud. Specifically M*Modal relies on MarkLogic for:

  • ACID compliance for transactional integrity
  • Search and query to find patient data more effectively
  • Performance that yields rapid response times
  • Scalability for managing multiple terabytes of data and a growing number of concurrent users
  • A flexible data model that is able to handle a variety of data from multiple sources with ease
  • Healthcare- and government-grade security

Benefits

M*Modal currently supports over 1,000 hospital systems, thousands of concurrent users, and 36,000 queries and millions of transcription documents each day. Most notably, the combination of M*Modal and MarkLogic is helping hospitals and physicians deliver better care at reduced costs.

Drive revenue with faster time to diagnosis. MarkLogic’s agility allows M*Modal to adapt to global issues and quickly roll out new services to support health concerns and epidemics. For example, when events like the Ebola crisis hit America in 2014, M*Modal was able to create a subscription-based app that helped guide doctors in determining an Ebola diagnosis (identified data points such as high fever, travel, etc.) And because it was a subscription- and cloud-based service, M*Modal was able to support a multi-tenant environment, making the service available to multiple users at hospitals, universities, grants and more ‒ all with the push of a button.

Establish excellent data usage and customer experience. Today, M*Modal manages millions of patients’ documentation, with sub-second search. M*Modal helps customers address challenges including Meaningful Use, ICD-9 to ICD-10 transition, and the growth of electronic medical records (EMRs) by quickly ingesting, integrating and delivering new information as it emerges. M*Modal and MarkLogic add an additional value layer upon M*Modal’s speech recognition technology through data integration. Not only can M*Modal capture a doctor’s notes and insight, but it can search and discover relevant patient information to add to the patient’s record in order to drive accurate and rapid diagnoses.

Create healthcare-grade security with agility. M*Modal could not succeed without the highest level of security, but sometimes security protocols can hinder innovation. M*Modal resolved this issue with MarkLogic, as the platform has the highest level of security, and allows for personalized controls so every authorized person working with a patient can add critical information into a patient’s record, coders can access relevant information for insurance purposes, and more.

More Customer Testimonials

ABN AMRO
ALM
American Psychological Association
American Society of Agronomy
Bowker
Broadridge
BSi Group
CABI
Codifyd
Condé Nast
CQ Roll Call
De Gruyter
EBCONT
Elsevier
Fairfax County, Virginia
Federal Aviation Administration
Global Nonprofit
Hannover Re
Healthcare.gov
HEROLD.at
Informatics Corporation of America
Institute of Engineering and Technology
Institute of Physics
Investment Bank
Investment Bank (Tier 1)
Investment Bank (Top 5)
JWG Group
Klopotek
Lagardère Active
M*Modal
Mitchell 1
MVB
National Archives & Records Administration
NBCUniversal
OECD Publishing
Oxford University Press
Press Association
Princeton Theological Seminary
Reed Business Information
Royal Society of Chemistry
RSuite CMS
Springer
Thieme
Triumph Learning
University of Virginia
Warrior Gateway
Wiley
Yell.com